Skip to content

Dollfie Dream Yoko

April 24, 2010

Had always admired the excellent photos made of Volks’ Dollfie Dream ball jointed dolls ever since their popular visible proliferation online outside of Japanese websites, in part due to Danny Choo and Figure.fm.

Having an interest in photography and being prone to like such cute items, the fact these Dollfie Dream dolls have visible joints like Figma figures and come at a significant price tag always kept me from indulging myself in the mania.

D_20100424_Yoko_03_sml

Seeing more otaku comrades succumb to the Dollfie craze and showcase terrific photos, it became increasingly difficult to resist the temptation and my desire to get into the adventure grew.

Having mentioned being fond of the Saber, Yoko and Nanoha Dollfies for their terrific facial sculpts, Dollfie connoisseur and otaku friend Wolfheinrich alerted me to a Yoko Dollfie on sale at Mandarake for a very competitive price.

From the epic action series “Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann” by Gainax, Yoko was brand new sealed, and came with the bonus exclusive beach set. It was mentioned the box itself showed some wear and tear, but for a nick and dent box it was still in pristine condition.

D_20100424_Yoko_11_sml

As Mandarake is an online store which accepts PayPal and ships internationally, was able to forgo having to use a proxy service so saved on costs there, all adding to this being a terrific opportunity.

Hesitating but a few minutes, made the plunge and ordered Yoko. Transaction with Mandarake was transparent and quite swift, can only recommend their professional service as they even mailed me to query for the exact shipping address when I had made a typo in the address confirmation.

The adventure hit its first challenge there, just as EMS was about to transport the parcel overseas, a certain Icelandic volcano decided to erupt and the resulting ash cloud caused most of the European airports to close down for days.

D_20100424_Yoko_05_lrg

After near a week of nail-biting suspense, the parcel was shipped overseas to land in the clutches of customs, whom previously held on to my Alter Nanoha and Fate parcels for nearly two weeks each… I again feared the worst.

Were they unable to resist Yoko’s charm or tomboyish toughness I do not know, but by sheer miracle she cleared customs within a day and arrived on my doorstep yesterday, without any additional fees to boot!

D_20100424_Yoko_01_sml

Yoko came very well packed and protected, Mandarake even included additional bubble wrap inside the box to protect the doll, the box itself was again wrapped in bubble wrap, surrounded by crumpled up newspaper all in a sturdy cardboard box.

So with excitement and glee, unpacked Yoko and assembled her, which took effort and quite a bit of time, no doubt also since I heeded the warnings to proceed with care.

D_20100424_Yoko_06_sml

Whether it is due to my own poor sense of scale, even though had seen plenty of photos online that accurately showed the size of a Dollfie compared to normal figures, a Detolf cabinet or even people, was struck by the sheer scale. Actually in some ways she was smaller than I had imagined yet in other ways she looks positively huge.

Equipped with a Dollfie Dream Dynamite body, Yoko sports a sizable bosom and buxom tushie, while this isn’t especially something I was looking in a Dollfie, much like Dollfie seamstress Chun, actually do appreciate the unique feature of Yoko that the chest piece is entirely smooth, enabling one to dress her carefree in top pieces.

D_20100424_Yoko_02_sml

Now Yoko looks forward to some additional outfits and care products of which some are on their way already.

Decided to pamper my Dollfie daughter, especially since her default outfit while cute isn’t suitable for all occasions and is reputedly very prone to staining.

Haven’t fully decided yet whether to keep Yoko in her original character or rename her, but she’s mighty cute as she is.

D_20100424_Yoko_08_sml

Want to thank comrades Wolfheinrich, AsianEd, Anonymous Object and the many others from the Dollfie Dream Flickr group for all their invaluable help and advice.

But when looking at how irresistibly cute Yoko’s facial sculpt is and the many outfits are, why resist?
Hope you will enjoy reading future Dollfie related posts and photo fun!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:00 pm

    Your beach set was only 2 piece? Mine had 3… o.O??

  2. April 24, 2010 9:11 pm

    @Asian Ed
    Ah well, in pieces yes it has three (swimsuit top, swimsuit bottom and pareo) but I meant two as top + bottom. Let me edit that to avoid confusion.

  3. AnimeAffection permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:47 pm

    You’ve got a hot one there! ^^ Congrats!

  4. April 25, 2010 12:06 am

    Congrats on adopting Yoko! I am sure she would become one of your best photography companion and my daughters have become!

  5. April 25, 2010 1:18 am

    Congratulations on adopting your first daughter. Better give her a sister to play with soon! 😛

  6. April 25, 2010 1:18 am

    Looking at ur fascination to these beauties, it was only a matter of time. 🙂
    Congratz on ur purchase.

    No matter how much I appreciate them, I just can’t see myself owning one. Really I just can’t but I’m sure u had the same feeling as well before u made the jump. xD

  7. April 25, 2010 2:38 am

    Yoko is very beautiful! Congratulations!

  8. April 25, 2010 6:03 am

    Oooh congratz! I thought you seemed to be more in despair about the package being delayed by the volcano more than usual ^^; Now I see why, lol.

  9. CHMakoto permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:22 am

    I would like to ask if you would recommend this doll to someone who has a fair number(34) of fixed limbs and dress figures, but none that are moveable, except for changeable arms and the like. I have two other Yoko figures (Gift 1/5 and Kotobukiya 1/5)and wonder if this one would fit in.

    I’ve always been a little concerned as to whether the joints make the figures look too artificial. I’ve generally liked what you have gotten before and have a few based on your recommendation (happily).

  10. April 25, 2010 9:54 am

    @AnimeAffection
    Thanks. I’ve always adored Yoko’s facial sculpt, it’s very cute.
    @Wolfheinrich
    Thanks. Wouldn’t have been possible without you corrupting… err helping me. XD
    @SG
    Well first going to get some more gear for Yoko and see how it goes. In time… who can tell? We’ll see. ^_~
    @Optic
    To be honest there are moments I think to myself “What the hell, you bought a doll!?” but it’s such a cute rendition of Yoko and has a lot of potential for cute poses and photo shenanigans (like Figma in a sense). So far it’s been a thrill ride and am enjoying it. ^^
    @Vin’s
    Thanks. ^^
    @lightningsabre
    Aside from just being anxious to get her, was genuinely worried as even though was able to buy her at a very good price, it’s still a high value parcel.
    @CHMakoto
    That’s tough to say. As I only got Yoko a few days now I cannot predict how I’ll feel about this new hobby in a few months, though I reckon I’ll still love it. (Just being pragmatic and truthful.)
    What put me off the longest is the joints and significant pricetag. Having Yoko here now I can already attest that after a while, you don’t focus on or even notice the joints anymore.
    As for fitting in with scaled figures, a Dollfie will literally dwarf them as they’re much larger scale.
    Positive about a Dollfie is that they’ve tremendous potential for customization and alterations. But if you plan proper care and a few extra items, you’ll have to get a budget that surpasses the doll price by a good fraction to include those.
    I think the best recommendation I can give is look into it more if you’re curious, look at photos, posts on blogs and figure.fm, talk to owners (and perhaps even to people not into them). That will enable you to make an informed decision.

  11. April 25, 2010 11:41 am

    Im not a fan of dolfie,,, they simply scare me … yes they do DX

    anyway ye the volcano became good friends with all of you otakus waiting for your parcels in europe XD

  12. April 25, 2010 4:36 pm

    Another one who bought one.

    Hope that I will not notice one day a sale for such a DD. xD

  13. April 25, 2010 4:50 pm

    Another one went down that dark,dark path to ruin XD

    Well, I guess Ive gotta Congratulate you now? Gratz!
    Im amazed that customs didnt charge any taxes for her,I guess you were might lucky considering the price tag these dolls come with.

    Personally speaking I still cant see the attraction of Dollfies considering that its a doll and the likelyhood of the character imho marginal.Add an high pricetag and Im outta the game
    Dont wanna spoil your fun but thats just my two cents ^^

    Have fun with your new doll 😀

  14. April 25, 2010 5:41 pm

    She looks great, congrats on getting her so quickly!
    Now we can be DD newbies together xD

  15. April 25, 2010 5:45 pm

    @Fabrice
    Truth be told that’s still a mere detail compared to the trouble the airport closures caused for so many stranded people and the economic repercussions.
    @GREW
    You and Blowfish will someday cave in! The Dollfie craze started in Japan and moves to the East so not too far from you guys anymore now that it made landfall in Europe. XD
    @Blowfish
    Proves how customs here just do whatever, since they charged over 50Euros for the Alter Nanoha & Fate parcels!
    Well I thought so too at first and the character link is many terms less than with a figure but they’re also a lot more than that. Agree that the price tag is very high, even more so when you look at accessories, wigs, outfits,…
    Am pondering into including those thoughts in any future Dollfie posts since although passionate I’m also pragmatic and able to still look at both sides of the fence. ^^
    @anonymous_object
    Well you got a warm-up by getting Azone dolls before your Dollfie. Yui’s a cutie, but not sure I’ll pick her up even though availability and prices are ok. You thinking of getting another one already or?

  16. GabrielVH permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:51 pm

    Congrats again on your Yoko! She’s definitely a cutie, and I can’t wait for your photos of her in the future!

  17. April 25, 2010 6:13 pm

    @Smithy

    Another Thing that bothers me when I look at the Dollfie Collectors is how they customize their Dollfies.When I am buying a Dollfie representing a certain character the last thing Id do is turn them into someone else.

    Feels like spoiling the whole purpose of it.

    I actually wonder are you now constantly playing with her or what do you mean with shes so much more than a doll?

  18. April 29, 2010 12:43 pm

    Yoko dollfie is really pretty. ^ ^

    “Whether it is due to my own poor sense of scale, even though had seen plenty of photos online that accurately showed the size of a Dollfie compared to normal figures, a Detolf cabinet or even people, was struck by the sheer scale. Actually in some ways she was smaller than I had imagined yet in other ways she looks positively huge.”

    It’s not just you. She looks positively large to me from your pictures.

  19. May 5, 2010 6:25 pm

    Congrats!

  20. G.K. Sil Kamina permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:54 pm

    Like you, I had quite the shipping experience trying to get my Dollfie Dream Nia. I had to use Yahoo Auctions Japan and a proxy service and the process went fine. I was excited when my order finally shipped. Imagine my shock when the package finally showed up and it was only a small box.

    They only shipped the doll’s HEAD. *that’s another story in itself* So I had to contact them and pay more shipping fees to get the body. Took another week but I was happy to finally have a completed Nia.

    Yoko looks great! I normally don’t like the faces for Dollfie Dreams, but Yoko’s face is very cute.

  21. May 8, 2010 10:06 am

    @Yi
    It’s interesting how her size totally alters photo opportunities sheer scaling compared to a Figma.
    @Danny Choo
    Thanks! ^^
    @G.K. Sil Kamina
    That sounds like quite an ordeal. Makes me happy I was able to buy her from a store like Mandarake.

  22. July 6, 2010 9:22 pm

    how much?

Trackbacks

  1. Another Site Update, Volks News, and Miscellaneous Happenings | Wolfheinrich's World
  2. Dollfie loot for Yoko « Blue Blue Wave

Leave a Reply

