Skip to content

Anime summer season 2010

June 17, 2010

The summer anime season is almost here! With the spring anime series approaching their finales or halfway mark for the longer running shows, took a look at the line-up of series slated to air this summer.

Will definitely be watching “Strike Witches 2” as I really enjoyed the first season of this series based on the original work by Shimada Humikane. Hope that the animation of this sequel done by AIC will be up to par with the animation of “Strike Witches” by Gonzo.

M_AnimeSummer2010_03

Am concerned though that not all voice actresses may return to reprise their roles as the witches, already saw that Mio Sakamoto will now be played by Saori Seto instead of Saeko Chiba.

Another series I will watch is “High School Of The Dead”, the anime adaptation of the horror manga written by Daisuke Satou with art by Shoji Sato. Although zombie stories aren’t my personal preference, thought the H.O.T.D. manga was quite good with an interesting take on the post-apocalyptic zombies infested world type plot.

Judging by the trailer on the official website, it promises to be a faithful adaptation of the original, full with blood, gore, zombie massacres and busty fighting babes. Have high expectations for this series!

Other series that piqued my interest and which I will sample are “Asobi Ni Iku Yo”, “Seitokai Yakuindomo” and “Amagami SS”.

M_AnimeSummer2010_04

“Asobi No Iku Yo” looks interesting not only because of the cat eared girl antics, but the original light novels feature art by Houden Eizo, an excellent artist who also did the original art for the “Wagaya No Oinari-sama” novels.

Wonder what “Seitokai Yakuindomo” will be like, haven’t read the manga but it looks like it might be somewhat akin to “Seitokai No Ichizon” with a zest of “Kaichou Wa Maid-sama” perhaps?

Also animated by AIC, “Amagami SS” could end up being standard fare seeing it’s based on a dating sim, yet do like that the series will be in chapter format, focusing on each girl in turn.

Considering that “K-ON!!” is slated to run 26 episodes am looking forward to seeing the light music club girls’ antics continue into the summer season. Will keep on blogging this terrific slice-of-life comedy series, though I haven’t decided yet which other series I might episodically blog, if any.

What will you be watching this summer season?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 8:42 pm

    Not all seiyuu will reprise their roles in Strike Witches 2? That’s sad. Half the soul of an anime character is the seiyuu IMHO

    And except for high school of the death – not my cup of tea- we are basically interested in the same shows. I will also try Mitsudomoe, the manga was pretty fun, and Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi

  2. fma245 permalink
    June 18, 2010 12:41 am

    What about Black Rock shooter?

  3. Devastator001 permalink
    June 18, 2010 3:39 am

    Highschool of the Dead only this summer for me, I both loathe and like zombie flicks (I hate how they can always manage to sneak up on you despite being slow and smelly). ^_^; Here’s hoping for a Saeko Busujima fig made by Alter or Megahouse 😀

  4. June 18, 2010 4:37 am

    Hmmmm, I usually don’t watch anime as they air but I will be continuing with K-ON!! Too fun to pass on 😉

  5. June 18, 2010 7:14 am

    @Sergio
    Haven’t seen the complete cast sheet yet but did spot that Sakamoto is now voiced by another seiyuu, kind of a shame.
    @fma245
    Honestly, I’m not really interested in BRS.
    @Devastator001
    Well zombie horror like “High School Of The Dead” is normally not my genre at all, but the manga was terrific so I’ll pick it up. A great Saeko figure by Alter would be awesome. ^^
    @anonymous_object
    I try and catch some series as the air, also because watching them raw first is good practice, though this works best for shows with more basic day to day language use like “K-ON!!”.

  6. June 20, 2010 6:01 pm

    As long as Sanya keeps her voice I’ll be happy, er um I mean, it’s a shame that ANYONE has a change of seiyuu honestly. Strike Witches 2 is the only thing I’m really looking forward to this season, but I’m sure I’ll end up loving a few others in the process of checking them all out. I have a habit of picking up several shows a season that I didn’t have much interest in and being pleasantly surprised.

  7. June 21, 2010 8:04 pm

    So glad to see Strike Witches at the top. More loli yuri is always good.
    I’m hoping to see some new Mecha Musume from Shimada Humikan’s designs.

    Anyways, High School of the Dead, Shiki, and Strike Witches for me.

Leave a Reply

