Skip to content

Maria†Holic anime second season coming!

October 22, 2010

Spotted the news on several anime websites such as ANN that the hilarious comedy “Maria†Holic” will receive a second season!

Based on the ongoing まりあ†ほりっく manga by Endo Minari, adored the anime adaptation’s first season and always hoped they would continue once the manga had enough new material.

M_MariaHolic_01_sml

Quite glad that it is again studio Shaft who will be handling the show as they did a superb job on the first season and this franchise is perfect for their typical alternate style. (Though did read once that “Maria†Holic” did not sell well compared to their other titles or their big hit “Bakemonogatari”.)

The original anime season has a Region 1 English subtitled DVD box set by Sentai Filmworks which I highly recommend.

Can’t wait to see Kanako and Mariya’s antics again!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 11:59 pm

    Good news! I have to re-watch the first season. When I watched it 2 years ago I wasn’t too familiar with anime yet and I didn’t think too much of it, but afterwards I’ve listened to the drama CD and found it to be pretty funny

  2. Whisper permalink
    October 23, 2010 1:46 am

    Wooooot! Awesome news! I found the first season to be hilarious and can’t wait for the second. I can’t wait to see more of God!

  3. October 23, 2010 10:01 am

    @Sergio
    Think that a show like “Maria†Holic” is a lot funnier when you’re already familiar with anime, especially the harem/ecchi male lead and yuri genres because this series puts its own unique spin on them with the trap shenanigans and especially with Kanako as female lead.
    @Whisper
    Me too, I hope that all the same voice actresses and actors reprise their roles.

  4. October 23, 2010 11:45 am

    It’s an acquired taste I guess xD

  5. October 25, 2010 8:04 pm

    Kinda glad this is coming. The first season just cut off without getting very deep at all. I felt like it just ended in the middle of the series rather than feeling like an ending at all. When it was over I felt that it should have been a 20+ episode series rather than such a short one, so yeah a 2nd season is welcome.

  6. October 27, 2010 6:02 pm

    I like yuri and I don’t mind traps, but I still don’t know what to feel about the combination.

Leave a Reply

