Skip to content

Kamisama Dolls

July 14, 2011

Upon reading the brief synopsis of “Kamisama Dolls” in the summer series line up, was interested to check out this anime adaptation of the original “神様ドォルズ“ manga by Yamamura Hajime, as its science fiction setting sounded appealing.

Alas after watching the first few episodes, am disappointed in the series and must conclude it is not a show to my liking.

E_KSD_01_01

While the animation by Brains Base is decent overall, personally do not like the character drawing style used and felt that sometimes the characters’ facial expressions or psychical proportions were not correct. Especially busty Hibino’s shapely form is sometimes totally off.

Am not really fond of the dolls’ design either, not of the overall plot of mentally scarred Kyouhei trying to forget about his past but is once again violently confronted with it due to insane Aki.

Sorry for those of you who like the original manga or this anime so far, but personally am dropping this show and in good conscience can not recommend it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    July 16, 2011 4:41 pm

    “Am not really fond of the dolls’ design either, not of the overall plot of mentally scarred Kyouhei trying to forget about his past but is once again violently confronted with it due to insane Aki.” Couldn’t agree more, Through out the whole of episode 1 nothing really grabbed my attention and left me wanting more.

    Not to much of a loss for me as this was never in my original “to watch” list, I’ve also dropped Blooc C, same reasons, nothing made me want more :[

  2. July 16, 2011 7:52 pm

    @Dave
    Looking back at some of the promotional art, there’s quite a difference between its styling and that used in the anime. The anime just seems too average, poor even I’d say in too many aspects.
    You’ve dropped “Blood-C”? Will definitely watch the second episode of it as I quite liked the first episode, story and characters are nothing extraordinary yet but loved the visual atmosphere, it just oozed style.

  3. Dave permalink
    July 16, 2011 9:04 pm

    @Smithy
    hmm I will look into the promotional art, don’t thinkg I saw any of it.
    Yeah for now I’ve dropped it. If I get time I will give the third episode a watch and rejudge, Might be a late bloomer for me. I agree with the style, one thing I will always praise CLAMP on is their style.

Leave a Reply

