Skip to content

Kawaii Codec Pack

February 17, 2013

When watching anime on a computer running Windows, have since years relied on CCCP, which always offered a stable and hassle-free pack that includes the necessary codecs & media player for watching nearly all videos.

As more and more 10bit videos began to emerge, noticed that my current combination of hardware and software was having some trouble keeping up. Soon discovered the Kawaii Codec Pack (aka KCP) which too offers a convenient, easy to install and use combination of codecs & media player.

T_KCP_01

Have been using the Kawaii Codec Pack for several weeks now and am quite satisfied with it for the same reasons that I have always liked CCCP. (In the meantime the latter has been updated, though I’ve yet to try this newer version out.)

If you’re looking for a convenient codec & player pack for a Windows based system, definitely recommend you give KCP a try. Of course, when possible, do watch anime through official sources like Crunchyroll or the GITSChannel which hosts “Ghost in the Shell: Stand-Alone Complex” on Youtube.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2013 2:08 am

    Ooh funky! I’ve found myself using VLC and haven’t had a single problem with missing codecs, I love it. 😀

  2. October 16, 2013 9:06 am

    That might be because you haven’t downloaded or seen any 10bit encodes. Not a lot are using 10bit yet, but it’s going to be the new thing. I have only this week encountered 3 10bit encoded episodes and they definitely don’t play with VLC, even with CCCP installed. I can get these episodes to play with MPC having CCCP but I hate the player. VLC is perfect for me as the volume control goes up to 400% which allows me to keep my TV volume low and still make videos loud enough to hear good. I have a 2 in 1 TV/PC. I’m going to try this KCP codec pack if only to get VLC to play these seemingly new 10bit anime encodes.

  3. October 16, 2013 7:32 pm

    @McClintick Ryan
    There’s plenty of anime out in 10bit encodes these days and most of the shows I watch are in 10bit now. They play fine using KCP with MPC Home Cinema.

Leave a Reply

